jump to navigation

First odd noise July 9, 2006

Posted by tcnme in Anecdote, Driving, Mileage.
trackback

In just over two weeks with my tC (and just over 500 miles, which we passed last night), I haven’t really come across anything to make me feel as if I’ve a lemon on my hands.

But I did have a little, brief scare.

Exactly a week after taking the car home, I filled out my insurance paperwork and decided I had better take it to the post office right away, to make sure it gets it needs to be ASAP. The stop-and-go city driving gave me a few opportunities to experience an odd, low clicking sound, which seemed to correlate with the speed at which I was driving. As I would accelerate, the clicking would get faster, slower as I braked. Not knowing much about cars, I assumed the worst — something’s awry with the engine.

As I heard it happen a few more times, I listened intently and realized that it was more of an electronic sort of click, rather than mechanical. This got me thinking critically and I eventually had a very good idea of what it could be; I’d try turning off the stereo.

Now, mind you, I wasn’t listening to music or anything, but I had left the stereo on the last time I was in the car. And I had been utilizing one of the most fun things I’ve found about this car, its 3.5 mm (1/8″… standard headphone, etc.) AUX port, for plugging in audio devices. I had left the volume turned very far up, a requirement for getting decent volume from plugged-in devices.

Turning off the stereo made the noise go away. I suppose the plug was picking up some electronic-sort of interference, or something.

I was just pretty relieved to find that it wasn’t something more, ehm, complicated.

Comments»

No comments yet — be the first.

Leave a Reply

